

# <u>Kushan Shah Dethrones Top Seed Madhwin Kamath in U-16 to enter the Semi Finals of the</u> <u>Fenesta Junior National Tennis Championship</u>

**New Delhi, October 12, 2017**. Unheralded Kushan Shah soaked in the pressure on the bogh stage and demolished top seed Madhwin Kamath in the under-16 quarter-finals of the Fenesta Open national tennis championship on Thursday.

Kushan used a sound array of shots and backed it up with unflappable temperament to dump the top seed for a major win in his fledgling career.

"I feel good about winning today. I feel one should never give up. I have been training for the last few months for this tournament and going to do my best tomorrow. I am hoping to win in the finals," said Kushan.

Eighth seed Kevin Mrugesh Peter also sailed through as he beat Sandeep VM in the under-16 quarter-finals.

Kevin was in sound touch on court and never lost momentum through the contest. "This is one of the best tournaments and I am happy to be in the semi-finals. I will be playing with my best friend tomorrow and it will be fun. Looking forward to winning in the finals," he said.

In girls' under-16 section, Kaavya Sawhney from Punjab was in rip-roaring form as she outplayed Bhakti Bharat Parwani from Gujarat 6-2, 6-4. Bhakti was the third seed.

"This is a big tournament and I have been practicing the whole year for this tournament. I started the tournaments pretty well and today I was very confident. I did not give a set this whole tournament and from the beginning I was in the lead. In the second set I was 3-1 down but then I held my nerve," said Kaavya.

The seeds stayed on course in the under-14 section with top seed Nishant Dabas beating Sushant Dabas 6-2, 6-2.

In girls under-14, top seed Gargi P Pawar 'struggled past Sanjana Sirimalla 3-6, 6-3, 6-3.

## **Round of Results**



Kushan Shah (GJ) (seed 6) bt Madhwin Kamath (GJ) (Seed 1) - 6-1; 6-2 Dev V Jevia (GJ) (Seed 2) bt Krish Patel (GJ) - 6-2; 6-0 Kevin Mrugesh Pater (GJ) (Seed 8) bt Sandeep V M (TN)(Seed 3) - 6-0, 6-2 Mann Maulik Shah (GJ) bt Nishan Dabas (DL) - 6-2; 6-4

## **Girls Singles 16**

Tanisha Kashyap (AS) (Seed 1) – bt Mubashira Anjum Shaik (TS) (Seed 5) – 6-2-6-0 Prinkle Singh (CH) (Seed 2) W.O Sara Dev (PB) Prerna V Vichare (MH) (Seed 4) bt Sharannya Vijay Gaware (MH) – 6-1, 6-4 Kaavya Sawhney (PB) (Seed 6) bt Bhakti Bharat Parwani (GJ) (Seed 3) – 6-2; 6-4

## **Boys Singles 14**

Nishant Dabas (DL) (Seed 1) bt Sushant Dabas (HR) (Seed 5) – 6-2; 6-2 Krishan Hooda (HR) (Seed 3) bt Denim Yadav (MP) (Seed 7) - 7-6 (1); 6-2 Ajay Malik (HR) (Seed 4) bt Aman Dahiya (HR) (Seed 8) – 7-5; 63 Dhruv Tangri (PB) (Seed 6) bt Udit Gogoi (AS) (Seed 2)-6-3; 6-3

## **Girls Singles 14**

Gargi P Pawar (MH) (Seed 1) bt Sanjana Sirimalla (TS) (Seed 7) 3-6; 6-3, 6-3 Sandeepti SinghRao (HR) (Seed 2) bt Priyanshi Sankesh Bhandari (GJ) (Seed 5)- 6-1; 6-4 Sudipta Senthil Kumar (MH) (Seed 3) bt Anjali Rathi (HR) – 6-4; 5-7; 6-4 Rutuja M Chaphalkar (MH) bt Srujana Rayarala (TS) (Seed 4) – 7-5; 6-4

## **Boys Doubles 16**

Sarthak Suden (DL) /Dhruv Tangri (PB) bt Madhwin Kamath (GJ) (Seed 2) / Kevin Mrugesh Pater (GJ) (Seed 8) -7 (2), 6-3 (10-8)

Rithvik Choudary Bollipalli (TS) / DEV V Javia bt Rhythm Malhotra (DL) (Seed 3) / Boopathy -7-6, 6-2

#### **Girls Doubles 16**

Tanisha Kashyap (AS) / Prerna V Vichare (MH) (Seed 1) bt Smriti Bhasin (TS) (Seed 4) / Sunskrithi Damera (TS)- 6-3, 6-1

Kaavya Sawhney (PB) (Seed 2) / Prinkle Singh (CH) W.O Sarah Dev (PB) / Bhakti Bharat Parwa

## **Boys Doubles 14**



Chirag Duhan (HR) / Kartik Saxena (DL) (Seed 1) bt Amrutjay Mohanty (OD) (Seed 3) / Abhishek Mohapatra (OD) 6-0, 6-7 (5)

Arjun A Kundu (GJ) (Seed 2) / Dhanya K Shah (GJ) bt Vishesh Jainish Pater (GJ) / Yashraj S Dalvi (MH) (Seed 4) -7-5, 6-4,

## **Girls Doubles 14**

Mushrath Anjum Shaik (TS) (Seed 2) / Srujana Rayarala (TS) bt Shruti Ahlawat (HR) / Anjali Rathi (HR) 7-5, 2-6(10-5)

Rutuja M Chaphalkar (MH) (Seed 4) / Naisha Srivatstav (KA) bt Kristi Boro (AS) / Shatavisa Ghosh (WB) 6-4, 6-4,

For further information, please contact:

Aman Pannu
Head Corporate Communications
DCM Shriram Ltd
9899078610

Maria Mishra Communications Director Golinopinion PR 9873001136

