

Nitten wins the battle of Champions against Kannan at the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship

2nd October 2017: Two former National Champions faced each other in the first round of the Men's Singles in the Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship on Monday. It was a tough match which lasted for two and a half hours plus with Nitten winning the first set 6-3 but Kannan came back with a force winning the second set. The third set was close with Nitten finally breaking Kannan's serve at 6-5. Nitten Kirrtane beat Vijay Kannan 6-3, 3-6, 7-5.

Nitten said after his win, "I have played Kannan earlier in the circuits and both are seasoned players, Vijay was playing very well infact we both were coming back after Lay ups. I had not played for the past two months and I am happy to pull through."

Top Seed Suraj Prabodh also had a tough match and won in a three setter against Ansu Kumar Bhuyan 7-6, 3-6, 6-3.

Seed two Bava Haadin also had to use his might to overcome Aryan Goveas 3-6,6-4,6-4. Third seed Kunal Anand warmed up for tougher battles ahead as he had little trouble in defeating Ishaque Eqbal 6-3, 6-2 in the first round of men's singles.

On a day when the lesser ranked players and the favourites got used to the dry heat at the Delhi Lawn Tennis Association hard courts, Kunal admitted he did not play his best tennis in the beginning. Yet, it sufficed for easing past his opponent.

"In the beginning, my game was slow. I adjusted to the court conditions after having been out of action for two months," he said.

Fourth seed Dalwinder Singh played an up and down game, which is quite understandable in the early stages of the tournament. He then settled into a smooth rhythm to outlast Paras Dahiya 0-6, 6-2,6-4.

There was a minor upset when Manish Sureshkumar defeated fifth seed Prajwal D Dev 6-3, 6-4. On this day, Prajwal played flat tennis and lost the opportunity to win in the Fenesta Open.

Zeel Desai the top seed did herself proud by whipping Harshita Chugh 6-2, 6-0 in the women's singles first round. For the young girl, her debut in the senior section was creditable.

"It is my first time in women's category at the Fenesta Open and I am happy to win the first round. I look forward to keeping up the momentum," she said.

In the boys' Under-18 section, top Nitin Kumar Sinha whipped Harsh Negi from Delhi 6-0, 6-0. He has been playing in the qualifying stage of the men's singles and made it to the main draw. That experience stood him in good stead.



"I played the qualifying in the men's section and am happy to have entered the main draw. I am satisfied with the scores today and hope for a good run tomorrow also," he said.

Second seed Siddhanth Banthia was also in cruise mode as he cruised to a 6-2, 6-0 win over Vaibhav Kundu.

The seeded players in girls Under 18 got a bye in the first round.

Scores at 6:45 pm:

MENS SINGLES

Suraj Prabodh (Seed 1) bt Ansu Kumar Bhuyan 7-6,3-6,6-3; Bava Haadin (Seed 2) bt Aryan Goveas 3-6,6-4,6-4; Kunal Anand (Seed 3) bt Ishaque Eqbal (WB) 6-3,6-2; Dalwinder Singh (Seed 4)(PB) bt Paras Dahiya (HR) 0-6,6-2,6-4; Nitten Kirrtane (Seed 7) bt Vijay Kannan 6-3,3-6, 7-5; Faisal Qamar (RJ) bt Dakshineshwar Suresh (TN) 7-6(3),6-4; Jayesh Pungliya bt Digvijay Singh Mehta 6-3,6-2; Manish Sureshkumar bt Prajwal D Dev (Seed 5) 6-3,6-4;

WOMENS SINGLES

Zeel Desai (Seed 1) bt Harshita Chugh 6-2,6-0; Shreya Gulia bt Prakriti Banwani 6-3,6-2; Shweta Rana bt Sindhu Janagam 6-3,6-3; Bhuvana Kalva bt Shruti Gupta 6-1,6-0; Yubrani Banerjee bt Smriti Singh 6-1,6-1;

BOYS UNDER 18 SINGLES

Nitin Kumar Sinha [W.B] (Seed 1) beat Harsh Negi [DL] 6-0, 6-0; Siddhanth J. Banthia [MH] (Seed 2) beat Vaibhav Kundu [HR] 6-2, 6-0; Dhruv Sunish [MH] (Seed 3) beat Deepender Grewal [HR] 6-0, 6-0;

Abhimanyu Vannemareddy [KA] (Seed 4) beat Dheeraj KS [TN] 6-4, 6-4; Theyjo J. Oges [TN] upset Megh Bhargav K. Patel [GJ] (Seed 5) 6-3, 6-3; Rithvik Choudary Bollipalli [TS] (Seed 6) beat Mohnish Devanshu Shah 6 – 06- 01; Sacchitt Sharma [DL] (Seed 7) beat Rohit Krishna Aynampudi [TS] 6-3, 6-0; Mritunjay Badola [UK] (Seed 8) beat Aaryan Pandit [HR] 6-1, 6-3; Yugantar Vyas (GJ) beat Argya Das [WB] 6-3, 1-6, 6-2; Nikit M. Reddy [AP] beat Sarthak Suden [DL] 6-2, 4-6, 6-3; Channathimmiah Honnappa [KA] beat Karthik Singh Panwar [DL] 6-2, 6-1; Krishan Hooda [HR] upset Atharva Sharma (Seed 9) [MH] 7-5, 6-4; Shivank Bhatnagar [DL] beat Ajay Malik [HR] 7-6, (7). 7-6 (7); Lomith Aksha Bathrinath [TN] beat Nitin Jaipal Singh [HR] 6-1, 7-6 (3); Boopathy Sakthivel [TN] beat Sandeep VM [TN] 6-2, 7-5; Shubham Malhotra [DL] beat Ashutosh Tiwari [UP] 6-3, 6-4; Kaivalya Vamanrao Kalamse [MH] (Seed 16) beat



Apuroop Patiola Reddy [TS] 4-6, 6-2, 6-3; Sanket Tomar [DL] upset Dipin Wadhwa (Seed 11) [DL] 6-3, 2-6, 7-6 (6); Kevin Mrugesh Patel [GJ] beat Sanjay GS (KL) 6-2, 7-6 (4); Fardeen Qumar [RJ] beat Deepak Senthil Kumar [TN] 7-5, 6-1;

Divesh Gahlot [HR] beat Aarayan Mehul Zaveri [GJ] 4-6, 6-3, 6-2; Muthu Aadhitya Senthilkumar [TN] beat it Kamboj [HR] 6-4, 6-4;

Dev V Javia [GJ] (Seed 10) beat Yeswanth Loganathan [TN] 6-3, 6-2; Madhwin Kamath [GJ] (Seed 14) beat Shashikant Rajput [HR] 6-2, 7-5; Bikramjeet Singh Chawla [DL] beat Himanshu Mor [HR] 2-6, 6-1,6-2; Dharmil Shah [GJ]beat Jeelani Khokar [GJ] 6-2, 4-6, 6-2; Rhythm Malhotra [DL] beat Vipul Mehta [DL] 6-4, 4-6, 6-0;

Sushant Dabas [HR] beat Sathya Maran [TN] 6-1, 7-5; Amit Beniwal [HR] upset Karan Srivastava [MH] (Seed 12) 3-6, 7-5, 6-4;

Naithaolin Calvin Golmei (Seed 15) [CH] beat Mann Maulik Shah [GJ] 6-4, 6-2; Abhishek Amit Shukla [MH] beat Yugal Bansal [DL] 6-4, Retd; Gunjan Suresh Jadhav [MH] beat Naresh Badgujar [HR] 6-2, 6-3

GIRLS UNDER 18 SINGLES

Ishita Singh bt Kanika Srinivasan 6-2,6-2; Kritika Umesh Chabbra bt Vanshika Chaudhry 7-6(6), 6-3; Chandrika Joshi bt Reetika Grewal 6-2,6-3; Sara Yadav bt Kaavya Sawhney 6-7(5),6-1,6-2; Shreya Tatavarthy bt Adrija Biswas 6-2,6-3; Smriti Singh bt Rupal Kharab 6-3,6-3; Sonashe Bhatnagar bt Jagmeet Kaur 6-0,6-4; Prerna Vichare bt Shefali Arora 6-0,6-0; Smriti Bisht bt Avishka Gupta 6-3,1-6,6-4; Sunskrithi Damera bt Kashish Bhatia 6-1,6-2; Himanshika bt Bhakti Shah 6-2,6-2 Aaliya Zubair Ebrahim bt Rashmika Rajan 2-6,5-2 (retd); Tejasvi Nandkumar bt Sarah Dev 6-3,6-3; Vidula Reddy bt Farhat Aleen Qamar 0-6,6-0,6-4; Bela S Tamahankar bt Rutupama Choudhary 6-3,6-3; Muskan Gupta bt Harleen Kaur 6-3,6-3

*The seeded players in girls Under 18 got a bye in round 1 of the Main Draw