

### Dev & Tanisha win with poise at Junior Fenesta Open National Tennis Championship

**10**<sup>th</sup> **October, 2017:** Dev V. Javia the second seed showed poise and control as he scripted a thrilling 6-2, 6-0 win against Vaibhav Singh Bisht from Uttar Pradesh in the first round of under-16 event of the Juniors Fenesta Open national tennis championship on Tuesday.

His second round later in the day also saw him exude the same confidence and Dev Javia had a satisfying victory against Ashish Sinha 7-6, 6-1.

Dev Javia said about his good performance through the day, "I fought well and I won the match, I know what I need to work for in the next matches. I am gaining confidence in every match and I am getting better by every match. I am hoping for the best."

There was an upset in the same section when Gourav Gulia from Haryana slammed the door on fourth seed Rithvik Choudhary. Gourav won 7-6 (8/6), 6-4. In an intense match, Gourav played the big points better and showed better concentration in the first set tie-break. But he tanked in the second round later in the day against Mann Maulik Shah 6-2,6-4.

In girls under-16, top seed Tansiha Kashyap showed she was in good form and ready for battles ahead as she toyed with Sudipta Senthil Kumar for a 6-0, 6-1 win in the second round.

In under-14 boys'section, top seed Nishant Dabas was in sublime form as he outplayed Anmay Yogesh Devaraj 6-1, 6-0. Seed three Krishna Hooda won against Heerak S Vora in straight sets while second seed Udit Gogoi played sharp to tame Arjun N.Gohad 6-4, &-6 (7/3).

There was a ding-dong battle in under-14 girls as top seed Gargi P. Pawar played an up and down game before winning 2-6, 6-0, 6-1 against Deepalakshmi Vanaraja.

#### Today's Match

### **Boys Singles 16**

## Round 1

Dev V Javia[GJ](Seed2) bt Vaibhav Singh Bisht[UP] 6-2,6-0; Gaurav Gulia[HR] upsets Rithvik Choudary Bollipalli[TS](Seed 4) 7-6(6),6-4; Sarthak Suden[DL](Seed 5) bt Aakarshit Mahajan[DL] 6-1,6-1; Divesh Gahlot[HR](Seed 13) bt Pratyush Mohanty[OD] 6-1,6-4; Nitin Jaipal Singh[HR] bt Shrut Mohan Nargeta[CH] 6-4,6-1; Kevin Mrugesh Patel[GJ](Seed 8) bt Aaryan Mehul Zaveri[GJ] 6-3,6-1; Arthav Neema[MP] bt Himanshi Duhan[HR] 7-5,6-3;



Boopathy S [TN](Seed 9) bt Anmol Bhupender Dahiya [HR] upsets Kabir Hans[OD](Seed 14) 6-4,6-4; Mann Maulik Shah[GJ] bt Arnav A Pathange[KA] 6-0,6-2; Shashikant Rajput[HR](Seed 15) bt Aditya Balsekar[MH] 6-4,6-3; Pankaj Jain[DL] 2-6,6-1,6-0;

## Round 2

Madhwin Kamath (Seed 1) bt Udit Kamboj 6-2,6-3 Dev Javia (Seed 2) bt Ashish Sinha 7-6,6-1 Vansh Bhagtiani bt Dhruv Tangri 6-3, 6-1: Aryan Pandit bt Mohit Bondre 7-6(2),6-2 Kushan Shah bt Aryaan Bhatia 6-3,6-1 Boopathy S bt Arthav Neema 6-1,6-1 Bhupendra Dahiya bt Chirag Duhan 6-4,6-2 Mann Maulik Shah bt Gourav Gulia 6-2,6-4 Sandeep VMbt Sushant Dabas 7-5,6-2

### **Girls Singles 16**

Tanisha Kashyap [AS] (Seed 1) bt Sudipta Senthil Kumar [MH] 6-0, 6-1 Bhakti Bharat Parwani [GJ] (Seed 3) bt Priyanshi D Sharma [GJ] 7-5, 6-1 Mubashira Anjum Shaik [TS] (Seed 5) bt Srujana Rayarala [TS] 7-5, 6-0 Kaavya Sawhney [PB] (Seed 6) bt Poorvi Bhatt [UP] 6-2, 6-1 Prinkle Singh [CH] (Seed 20 bt Mushrath Anjum Shaik [TS] 6-2, 6-2 Gargi P Pawar [MH] upset Smriti Bhasin [TS] (Seed 10) 6-4, 6-0 Sanya Singh [MH] upset Bela S Tamhankar [MH] (Seed 12) 7-5, 6-2 Ameek Kiran Batth [OD] upset Kashish Bhatia [DL] (Seed 16) 6-3, 6-2 Utuparna Choudhary [OD] (Seed 14) bt Renne Singla [HR] 6-3, 6-1 Sarah Dev [PB] (Seed 11) bt Ishita Singh [HR] 6-4, 6-2 Srishti Dhir [CH] upset Smriti Singh [HR] (Seed 13) — Walk Over

#### **Boys Singles 14**

Nishant Dabas [DL] (Seed 1) bt Anmay Yogesh Devaraj [KA] 6-1, 6-0 Udit Gogoi [AS] (Seed 2) bt Arjun N Gohad [MH] 6-4, 7-6 (3) Krishan Hooda [HR] (Seed 3) Heerak S. Vora [GJ] 6-1, 6-1 Ajay Malik [HR] (Seed 4) bt Daksh A Agarwal [MH] 6-1, 6-0 Sushant Dabas [HR] (Seed 5) bt Mihir Himanshu Pradhan [GJ] 6-3, 7-5 Dhruv Tangri [PB] (Seed 6) bt Jitin Kumar Chetry [PB] 4-6, 6-4, 6-2 Denim Yadav [MP] (Seed 7) Vishesh Jainish Patel [GJ] 6-1, 6-0 Aman Dahiya [HR] (Seed 8) bt Arunava Majumder [WB] 6-1, 6-3



Nikhil Thirumale Niranjan [KA] (Seed 9) bt Anirudh Krishna Dandigunta [HR] 6-2, 6-3
Amrutjay Mohanty [OD] upset Kartik Saxena [DL] (Seed 10)
Dhanya K Shah [GJ] (Seed 16) bt Faiz Mohd Nasyam [MH] 2-6, 6-4, 6-2
Sanjith Devineni [KA] (Seed 12) bt Kartik Parhar [PB] 6-3, 6-2
Arjun A Kundu [GJ] (Seed 13) bt Vishal Yadav [HR] 6-0, 6-2
Abhishek Mohapatra [OD] (Seed 11) bt Deep Munim [MP] 6-1, 6-0
Rudra Kapoor [UP] (Seed 15) bt Anurag Reddy Julappagari [MH] 6-3, 6-3
Chirag Duhan [HR] (Seed 14) bt Sarabjot Singh [CH] 6-0, 3-6, 6-3

# **Girls Singles 14**

Gargi P Pawar [MH] (Seed 1) bt Deepalakshmi Vanaraja [TN] 2-6, 6-0, 6-1
Sandeepti Sing Rao [HR] (Seed 2) bt Vaishnavi Adkar [MH] 6-2, 6-1
Sudipta Senthil Kumar [MH] (Seed 3) bt Shatavisa Ghosh [WB] 6-1, 6-1
Srujana Rayarala [TS] (Seed 4) bt Ria P Washimkar [MH] 6-0, 7-6 (1)
Priyanshi Sankesh Bhandari [GJ] (Seed 5) bt Paavinii Paathak [MH] 6-4, 6-2
Rutuja M Chaphalkar [MH] upset Renne Singla [HR] (Seed 6) 7-6(2), 2-6, 6-3
Sanjana Sirimalla [TS] (Seed 7) bt Radhika Rajesh Mahajan [MH] 6-1, 6-1
Anjali Rathi [HR] upset Hrudaya Kaustubh Shah [MH] (Seed 8) 7-5, 6-7 (3), 6-2
Naisha Srivasta [KA] (Seed 10) bt Anvi Ahluwalia [DL] 6-1, 6-0
Mushrath Anjum Shaik [TS] (Seed 13) bt Ayushi Singh [BR] 7-6(5), 6-4
Yana Dhamija [HR] (Seed 14) bt Kotistha A Modak [MH] 6-0, 6-0
Divya Bhardwaj [GJ] upset Aditi Narayan [KA] (Seed 11) 4-6, 7-6 (2), 7-5
Bhakti Shah [TS] (Seed 12) Steisha Budhala [DL] 6-2, 6-2
Kristo Boro [AS] upset bt Mekhala Manna [WB] (Seed 15) 6-1, 6-2
Poorvi Bhatt [UP] upset Sweta Samanta [WB] (Seed 16) 6-1, 6-4